Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Bits And Bobs Monday

with 3 comments

A bit of this and that from the past week  🙂

I love my homemade bread, absolutely love it.  Usually it turns out great, with ‘character’ and wonderfully tasty, so I’m not complaining.  But . . . I’ve been searching for the past few months for some different bread pans, ones that have slightly higher sides and a bit wider bottom.  To illustrate, in the photos below the first one is of a shop bought loaf and you can see how the sides of the loaf are higher and the bottom wider and more square than the second photo, which is my homemade loaf.

shop-loaf

homemade-split-tinAny ideas where I can find a couple of these type (top) pans?

BH bought a Stanley Thermos to take with him on detecting outings, and I just had to get a photo of the label.  Apparently you can go online to share your Stanley stories. 😀  This really tickled me, and still does.  Stanley stories?!  I’ve not gone to the site to partake of the non-fiction (then again, doesn’t say they have to be true does it?) and can only imagine the tales of intrigue and suspense that await!

stanley-thermos1

We had some lovely chicken breast from the butcher which I pounded out a bit and then cut each (2) in half.  I then simply dredged the pieces in seasoned flour (paprika, salt, pepper) egg, flour again and shallow fried about 10-12 minutes each side and left to rest of a few sheets of kitchen roll for 10 minutes.  Nice and crunchy outside and very moist inside.

chicken-breast1

Saturday I finally opened the Chatsworth Beer.  Given my penchant for Chatsworth, I just had to purchase a bottle while at the farm shop.  They did have quite a few different beers that I had never heard of, but this one was a Chatsworth beer!  🙂  I’m not much of a drinker and my preferred tipple is Guinness on the odd ocassion that I do succumb, but this was really nice.  And I’m sure that it tasted all that much better because of where it’s from!

chatsworth-beer

And last, but definitely not least are these beautiful roses.  My favourite flower, and just the thing to brighten up the dreary February days.

february-roses

Snippets Alphabet continues next post 🙂


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

February 23, 2009 at 3:32 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I so want to start baking my own bread….I was debating on getting a bread maker, but from your post, it looks like you can make delicious bread without a bread maker, is that right? I am new to all this ‘frugal cooking’! Thanks.

    Nicola

    February 26, 2009 at 10:54 am

  2. Hi Nicola –

    Thanks for stopping by, I do have a breadmaker – a Panasonic SD255 and wouldn’t trade it for anything!

    Sometimes, if I’m rushed for time I let the breadmaker do all of the work, but I don’t really care for the shape of the loaf that comes out of the breadmaker. Sometimes I make my dough ‘by hand’ and sometimes I make the dough in the breadmaker.

    This loaf – I did the dough in the breadmaker and then turned it out, kneaded a bit and put in a bread pan. I know some people feel that a breadmaker is a waste of money and space when it can be done by hand, but I find it is an invaluable time saver. I can put the ingredients in the machine and the dough takes about 2 hours which frees me up to do other things!

    Hope to “see” you again! 🙂

    kadeeae

    February 26, 2009 at 11:23 am

  3. Hi, thanks for your reply, and for stopping by my blog!

    I did wonder why I couln’t find your blog after you commented, and I have just changed my settings accordingly….well I think I have anyway!

    Hope to see you ‘around’ in the near future. Might have to invest in a bread maker after all….for some reason we go through so much bread! lol

    Nicola

    February 26, 2009 at 12:25 pm


Leave a Reply

