Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Snippets Alphabet Pt.2

with one comment

E – Is for Environment.  Do I think global warming is true?  Yes.  Do I think it’s a man made phenomenon? No.  What I believe, and I am no scientist, is that the earth has always gone through changes and cycles whether man roamed it or not.  I also believe that man’s presence and abuse has accelerated the natural changes and damaged the ecosystems as a whole.  Can anything we do stop the process?  No.  But I do think that being ‘kind’ to the earth and our environment can help slow the degradation, possibly even giving humans enough time to find somewhere else to survive.

F – Is for Forests.  I absolutely adore forests, the ‘woods’ and wooded areas.  Being on the rather barren North Sea shoreline only serves to enforce this.

G – Is for Guests.  As in the old question, “Who would you invite to your dream dinner party?”.  I’ll pick my top 5, but imagine there would be many more – so I’d have to rent a hall  😀   In no particular order they would be:  Henry David Thoreau,  Buddha (Buddha Shakyamuni / Siddhartha Gotama), Stephen Fry,  my maternal grandmother and Carl Gustav Jung.  Oh the conversations!  If the powers that be were with us, I’d like to think it would turn into at the very least a long weekend and at best an annual gathering.


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

February 21, 2009 at 2:22 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel exactly the same way about the environment. It is interesting what you say about Derbyshire a few snippits ago. While down south last weekend it made me realise how much I love Derbyshire especially the Peak District.

    Jules

    February 21, 2009 at 2:36 pm


Leave a Reply

