Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

The Blizzard Passed Us By

leave a comment »

Not too long after posting the last entry what there was of the snow turned to rain and stayed that way. 😦   We ended up with nothing but slush which during the night froze solid.  I wouldn’t have wanted to be on the roads early this morning!  Word is that there could be another possibility of snow later in the week, so fingers crossed.

Also, not long after the last post I toddled out to the kitchen to make some of those Oatmeal & Chocolate Chip Cookies that I mentioned from Maria’s blog.  I did have to substitute chopped chocolate for the chips as I didn’t have any, and I didn’t have enough of either light brown or dark brown sugar, so I used half of the 110g of each.  They turned out lovely and sooo delicious!  I also doubled the batch so that there were more than enough to share with BH’s boss and the IL’s.  Probably kept too many here, but that is soon rectified!

chocochunk-cookies

I conjured up some dough just before lunch and have fashioned it into some baps that now need to go into the oven.  Ooo, how I would love a huge brick oven to do my breads and rolls in!

baps

And then before heading off to change the bedding, I want to have a look online for ideas on veggies to grow this year.  Just a few, as we have very limited space and without much in the way of shelter, they have to be able to put up with the winds we get here . . . . . .wondering how difficult potatoes are to grow.  Seems I’ve read in one of Jamie’s books or remember from one of his shows that they are really easy, and carrots maybe.  Time for a bit of searching as soon as the rolls have come out.


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

February 3, 2009 at 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

