Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Sunday. Flurries, Papers And Me.

leave a comment »

It is positively SO cold!  I’ve always meant to get an outdoor thermometer, and haven’t yet, but it’s got to be about 3C out there before figuring the wind which is once again blowing a gale.  I swear that as I sat down to the computer (which faces two small windows) I saw one of the local fisherman fly by.  The wood pigeons have taken to hopping from place to place as I imagine flying in this would be fraught with danger!  Although for the most part the wind is coming directly off the sea, the fluffy snowflakes don’t seem to have any particular direction in mind, each in their own little whirlwind.  About 15 minutes ago there was just the odd snowflake, but now they’ve increased at least twofold and it sounds as if the wind is picking up even more.

Good day to be in, or so you would think.  BH is currently off somewhere towards Norwich metal detecting with a group of like mindeds.  I’m just hoping that the roads stay clear.  I trust his driving implicitly, it’s everyone else I’m concerned about.  Those who either panic at the sight of 1cm of snow on the road or their opposites (read:  idiots) who with 15cm on the ground would drive as normal.

My plans for today are much more comfort driven.  After posting this I’ll be giving my RSS feeds a quick run through and then the iMac is going off.  My Magpies (wannabe Geordie) are on TV at 1:00, the shouty people omnibus is being Sky +’ed and I”ve got a new book to get started on.  There are sausages in the fridge that will serve as dinner – with what else I’m not sure atm.  For now though, it’s to the RSS’s, then a nice large coffee to go with my Mail and The Observer that BH so kindly purchased and brought home before he left on his adventure.

Just before I go, I want to add this Hovis advert.  I’m sure everyone has seen this, but it is a real favourite of mine.  Everybody keep warm & dry!!


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

February 1, 2009 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

