Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Best Before Dates. Common Sense Should Rule.

with 2 comments

Some of the latest buzz seems to be about a website called Approved Foods which sells items that are, for the most part, either near or past their “Best Before” date.  You can find more information about what the terms “Use By” and  “Best Before” mean on the FSA site, and there is a short excerpt here from one of their Q&A pages.

In a nutshell, “Best Before” means that the product will be at it’s best, ie: freshest, most flavourful at or before the listed date.  “Use By” means that the product should be used or (horrors!) discarded after that date as it could present a potential health problem if it were to be eaten past this date.

Approved Foods has also been in at least a few of the national newspapers, where I first saw it mentioned.  Being an eager participant in the MSE Old Style forums I decided to do a search and see if anyone on the site was talking about it.  I should have known!  There was already in existence a number of posts concerning Approved Foods and I have to say that the great majority of them are nothing but positive.  A look at their site tells you how much they’ve grown over the past few weeks with all of the media attention, there is a notice on the front page stating they are currently at a backlog of 7 days and are no doubt working full on to deal with the onslaught of orders.

I imagine it depends on where you stand on things like the “Best Before” dates.  I tend to use any and all of the provided dates as a guide and not law.  I think common sense rules here and while a tin of veg that is a month past it’s best before date may very well be not only safe to use, but also just as tasty as it was a month ago.  The same cannot be said for perishable products – which Approved Foods does not sell.  Anyone remember the gentleman that opened a canned ham (I think it was) that was many, many years old and ate it not too long ago?  🙂

I have had a look around the site and signed up for their newsletter.  I also noticed that there were quite a few items (at the time I checked) that were prior to their best before dates, and they have some non-food items and pet food too.  I haven’t placed an order, although I may at some point, simply because for most things I just don’t have the space to buy in great quantities which is really the way to save here.  With P&P at £5.25 which is up to 28kg, if I were to order just 20 items it would add 26p to the cost of each item, so I would have to check and see how much of a savings that still was over the current supermarket price for the specific item.  But if you are able to buy (and use!) items in larger quantites there is a definite and great savings to be had.


Bookmark and Share
Written by kadeeae

January 16, 2009 at 12:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

    Chris Moran

    January 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm

  2. I’ve had a couple of orders from Approved Foods and they have been excellent! In fact I am now awaiting another order and have put one in for my sister.

    Catz

    February 12, 2009 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

