Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

“I Need To Use That Up” StirFry

with 4 comments

Again, no recipe really for this, I was just using up things I had in the fridge and it turned out great!

Beefy Stir Fry Ingredients

The night before, I sliced up peppers and mushrooms, diced onion and garlic and quick fried (very hot pan – very fast) a chunk of rump steak which had been marinating for about 10 hours in the fridge in some lovely marinade purchased while we were at the Chatsworth Farm Shop called Jethro’s Red Wine, Pepper and Thyme Marinade which is really delicious!  While still a bit warm I patted it in some plain flour until fairly well coated, then when cooled, put it in the fridge with the other ingredients.

Heatin' Up!

Heating up the wok with a dribble or two of olive oil until it was very hot I first added the onion, garlic and some frozen peas.  When the onion just started to soften I added the pre-cooked steak which I had sliced fairly thinly, continued to cook another minute or two and then added the peppers and mushrooms.  When they just began to soften I added some dried crushed chillies and a couple of pinches of dried herbs.

Add Basmati and Go!

Served over a generous helping of Basmati (ooo, I do love Basmati!) – BH added a few dashes of dark soy sauce, and I just a little salt and pepper.  With a little night before prep a very quick and very tasty dish!


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

November 29, 2008 at 3:38 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks absolutely delicious…quick to make and tasty!
    Margaret and Noreen

    the homely year

    November 29, 2008 at 7:54 pm

  2. It was, and I felt all the better for getting the “odd bits” used up out of the fridge and saving them from the bin!
    🙂

    kadeeae

    November 30, 2008 at 11:52 am

  3. Looks good, stir fries are great for clearing out the fridge!

    Sam

    November 30, 2008 at 3:32 pm

  4. My little boy is sitting here saying. “Mmm, goo”. 🙂 I agree!


Leave a Reply

