Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Slow Cooker Chilli

with 2 comments

Slow Cooker Chili

Chilli.  I don’t know that I’ve ever really had what you would call a proper recipe, I just know what I like in it and the amounts can vary from ‘batch’ to ‘batch’ as do the ingredients, dependent on what I have to hand.

This time it was:

  • Steak Mince – I believe the pkg. was about 600g (cheaper mince is fine, just remember to drain it very well after browning)
  • 2 – 400g tins Red Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 – 400g tins Chopped Tomato in Tomato Juice
  • 2 – 500g tins Homepride Classic Chilli Sauce (because I love the flavour!)
  • About 3 Tbsp. Tomato puree
  • 1 large or 2 small Onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic, very finely sliced
  • 2 tsp. Ground Ginger
  • 2 heaping tsp. Dried Crushed Chillies
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a frypan gently fry the onion and garlic in a little olive oil until soft and then set aside.  Fry the mince, breaking up with a spoon as you go, until nearly cooked through and all pinkness is gone, and drain off any fat.  Add the mince along with the onion and garlic to your slow cooker.  Then add all of the other ingredients stirring well after each addition.

Now, I put this together not too long before bedtime and left it on the low setting all night, ready to be eaten around lunchtime the next day.  When I got up in the morning I did take the lid off and give it a really good and thorough stir and then re-covered.  It was simply delicious!!

It’s a dish that’s hard to go wrong with other than possibly making it a bit too hot for those who don’t tend to like it that way or not hot enough for the ones who really like things with a “kick”.

Because I don’t believe in hard and fast rules, you can feel free to add anything you like or delete anything you don’t or change amounts if you like more or less of any one ingredient.  Say you wanted it saucier and not so thick you could add more chopped tomato or less beans/mince.  I think that it it’s one of those dishes that everyone makes just a little bit different and I know that I do most every time I make it!

I served ours in bowls with a side salad and some crusty bread, just what a cold, grey and damp day called for!

Written by kadeeae

November 14, 2008 at 11:28 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YUUUUUMMMMM! I’m not a fan of beans in chilli although I recognize they are probably a necessary component. That pot of chilli looks really delicious!

    Bentoist

    November 14, 2008 at 2:28 pm

  2. I don’t see why you would have to use beans! Like I said, I’m not one for hard and fast rules in cooking! Why not make a “beanless” chilli? 🙂

    kadeeae

    November 14, 2008 at 2:45 pm


Leave a Reply

