Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Apples, Apples Everywhere!

with 3 comments

I was the greatful recipient of some windfall cooking apples and got around to dealing with them yesterday.  They have been peeled, quartered, cored, sliced, stewed and seasoned slightly, cooled, bagged up and put in the freezer.  I used freezer bags because I can more in the freezer than if I tried using rigid containers, and with a bit of luck I’ll have a second lot coming today or tomorrow so I’ll be needing the freezer space! I did keep a small container out for making a crumble this afternoon.

[Cross-posted in part from PA]

Written by kadeeae

September 25, 2008 at 11:14 am

Posted in Food & Drink, Ingredients

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our community is gettig ready to have its Apple Festival next weekend. I can’t wait! Anything and Everything you can do with an Apple they have it.
    I’ll be joining you shortly in the apple product making soon!

    Liz

    September 25, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  2. We have two apple trees in our garden so we’re drowing in apples too. If you want another idea for what else to do with them, I stew them down with a little sugar to make a chunky puree then add a touch of rosewater for flavour. Great for on your porridge through the Winter, or with natural yogurt

    Sophie

    October 31, 2008 at 5:50 pm

  3. Ooo….I like the idea of rosewater, I’ll have to give it a try, thanks!

    kadeeae

    November 4, 2008 at 10:24 am


Leave a Reply

