Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Simple Simon Really Is THE Pieman!

leave a comment »

I had read a couple of different rave reviews of Simple Simon’s Pie Shop, where now I couldn’t tell you, and thought both times that I would definitely have to give them a try.  I bookmarked the site after reading the second review and finally got around to placing an order last week.

The most difficult part of placing the order was trying to decide on which pies to purchase.  All of the varieties sounded absolutely scrumptious, but in the end I placed an order for some of the Sausage and Potato in Onion Gravy, Pork with White Wine – Lemon – Parsley & Garlic and the Beef & Mushroom.  I ordered on a Wednesday, about 2:45 PM, which according to their delivery quotes on the website, would have mine arriving on the following Tuesday because I was after the 2 PM ‘deadline’ for Friday delivery.  I was pleasantly surprised when an email arrived about 15 minutes later stating that they had received my order and I could expect delivery on Friday.  Not only a punctual reply, but I’d be getting my pies 4 days earlier than planned!  🙂

The pies did indeed arrive on Friday, around 1 PM, and were wrapped and packed well with small ‘chiller cubes’ (ice gel) around them which they state would keep the appropriate temperature for 48 hrs.  Of course there was no way that these boxes were going to sit untouched for 48 hrs to find out!  I ordered more than I needed at the time so that I could put some in the freezer (they will keep well for up to 2 months, defrost slowly and thoroughly before reheating) and give a couple to the IL’s.

Dinner time the next day and into the oven went my pie, for about 35 minutes (I had taken it out of the fridge about half an hour prior to come up to room temp.) at Gas Mark 4.  Vegetables steamed, and I was ready!

And I was not, in any fashion, disappointed.  The photo above shows how gloriously golden (no edits here!) the pastry was and it tasted every bit as good as it looked coming out of the oven.  The pastry was lovely moist and light, but not so crumbly that you end up with bits everywhere like you do with some.  I thought that maybe it would be a bit dry because of reheating an already cooked pie, but it wasn’t in the least.  And, even better than the ‘shell’ was it’s contents.

The pork was very tender, moist and plenty of it.  The seasoning was absolutely spot on with no one flavour overwhelming the others, and all of the ingredients resting on steamed potatoes . . . . genius.  It really was delicious and a generous serving at about 300g.  I could have been a bit piggy and had two but with the veg it was a nice meal and I wasn’t so overstuffed that I couldn’t make a bit of room for some pudding.  🙂

I have to give Simple Simon’s Pies an enthusiastic and total “thumbs up”.  We haven’t had either of the two other kinds just yet, possibly this weekend, but I can’t imagine that they would be a let down.  Thought and care has gone into making these wonderful pies, you can tell, and I would feel confident in assuming the rest of the “line” is just as mouth watering and filling.  I will definitely post when we have the other two varieties.  Also of note, their creations are additive and preservative free with locally reared meats and fresh fish being used.

There are 20 types of pies and they also do casseroles which are suitable for freezing too, and a cold pork pie flavoured with spices and mustard which sounds yummy also.  I heartily suggest you drop by their site and have a look at the wonders Simple Simon’s has to offer, I know that we are now confirmed Simple Simon customers!


Bookmark and Share

Written by kadeeae

September 12, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

