Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Blogging Without Obligation

with 3 comments

This is cross-posted across all of my blogs, I love the idea and am grateful someone has put what I’ve felt into words!

Blogging Without Obligation, what a lovely idea!

I can’t count the times that I have ‘arrived’ on a blog to find that the first sentence contains an apology for “not blogging much lately“.  I’ve personally always felt that it really wasn’t necessary to apologize, that most of us have lives outside of the internet and realize that it isn’t always possible to blog on a regular basis no matter how good our intentions.  On the flip side of the coin, I too have felt a bit guilty at times for not getting something posted on my blog(s), a case of “I really should get a post or two up” – if only real life, that away from the computer screen, would co-operate!

Then, while giving my RSS feeds a good and thorough run through, I was reading the latest post on Shropshire Girl’s blog when I noticed a sign to the left reading “Blogging Without Obligation” and clicked on it to see what it was all about.  Clicking on the sign took me to the tartx website and an explanation.  For those of you who are tired at the end of your left-clicking day, below is the explanation for the sign (and what I think should become a full fledged movement) which is re-posted here with complete permission.

◊What Blogging Without Obligation Is About◊

“After coming across what seemed to be the 4000th or so post on someone’s blog starting with “I’m sorry I haven’t posted in awhile.” I decided it is time to rethink what makes a good blog and the expectations that have come to be part of it. I am thinking that no one should utter those words again . . .and with that thought I give you Blogging Without Obligation.

If you feel the same way feel free to grab the logo, make a logo or whatever you would like to do!

  • Because you shouldn’t have to look at your blog like it is a treadmill.
  • Because its okay to just say what you have to say. If that makes for a long post, fine. Short post, fine. Frequent post, fine. Infrequent post, fine.
  • Because its okay to not always be enthralled with the sound of your own typing.
  • Because sometimes less is more.
  • Because only blogging when you feel truly inspired keeps up the integrity of your blog.
  • Because they are probably not going to inscribe your stat, link and comment numbers on your tombstone.
  • Because for most of us blogging is just a hobby. A way to express yourself and connect with others. You should not have to apologize for lapses in posts. Just take a step back and enjoy life, not everything you do has to be “bloggable”.
  • Because if you blog without obligation you will naturally keep your blog around longer, because it won’t be a chore. Plus, just think you will be doing your part to eradicate post pollution. One post at a time. . .”

I feel absolutely freed, as if a great weight has been lifted and finally all is right in my blogging world.  Funny how something needs to be put in black and white (quite literally in this case) before it feels OK, but there you go.

Thank you to those behind the tartx site, you’ve done me a great favour.

Written by kadeeae

September 4, 2008 at 3:58 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for sharing that. I kinda got back into blogging lately after a 3 year break, and am enjoying it. However, I know myself enough that I might find at some point that I want to take a break. If so, I’d like to be able to do it freely without appearing like someone who disappeared into the night. Blogging Without Obligation certainly helps to put things into perspective.

    Bentoist

    September 7, 2008 at 2:58 pm

  2. It does help to put things into perspective. Now if I were doing this for pay, maybe it would be different then. But I started blogging because I enjoyed it, then started to feel guilty if I was putting something up every day. Not now, I blog when the mood strikes me and don’t let it concern me in the least when real life takes over and I’ve not blogged for days. Ahhh, freedom! 🙂

    kadeeae

    September 13, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  3. I love this idea! I sometimes need to take a step back and post even if the photo isn’t as good as I’d like or the writing could be better. I think it’s the sincerity and enthusiasm that ultimately matters. Who cares how often or perfect things are?

    Maggie

    September 14, 2008 at 10:38 pm


Leave a Reply

