Consuming The Harvest

While Pottering About At Home In Norfolk

Of Flowers And Flowery Questions

with 3 comments

While out and about this past week looking for a small and reasonably priced table for the back garden I simply could not pass these up :-)

I could have, of course, done something similar up myself and probably cheaper, but they’re a quick Spring fix and I will be using the little cauldrons over and over so still a bit thrifty I’d say and they definitely lifted my spirits!  We ended up buying two for us and two for the IL’s to give them a bit of colour to start their garden with too.  :-)

cauldron-posies

cauldron-posies-2

We had gone to the HFG farm shop in Blofield (where the flowers are from), which has bits of anything and everything “farm-shoppy” and I love going there, although it is probably about 10 miles from us – I think, I’m not so good at distances, lol.  For the first time ever I purchased some goose fat.  I think I make rather nice roast potatoes, but word is you’ve not had a decent roast potato until you’ve had one done with goose fat.  So, I’ll give it a go and see if it truly does make all the difference.

goose-fat

And of course, we bought some lovely local veg, some rolls, garlic stuffed olives (my fav) and a few other things.  It was nice to have a wander and see the garden centre section gearing up for spring and summer, the outdoor part where they usually set up tents and campers that are for sale was still shut though.  We went for a short drive afterwards and then headed back home as it was time to rustle up some lunch for The Beast.  Our first proper ‘gardeny’ and Springy outing of the year, enjoyed, but as is so every year, it served to add somewhat to the frustration that Spring is not yet quite here!

Before I go, can someone tell me what these flowers are?  They are small, only about 6 inches high in total, lovely and delicate.  Please click on the photos to enlarge.  Everyone have a great weekend, sounds as if it will be a nice one!

flower-question

flower-question-2

Written by kadeeae

March 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The little blue flowers are dwarf iris……very pretty little flowers. I will send you a piture of the rose we have in a container, so you can see how big it is. The new pots will be deeper becuase I want the weight them so they cannot ‘walk’.

    Silver sewer

    March 21, 2009 at 3:45 pm

  2. Thanks for the info, I thought they looked like an iris, but had never seen any so small before.

    I’ll be watching for the photo too! :-)

    kadeeae

    March 21, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  3. Yes, definitely an iris. It could be a swamp iris too.

    rhonda jean

    March 22, 2009 at 8:54 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

